76 years ago seven brave sons of Bihar were martyred while trying to hoist the national flag on the Secretariat building.

Martyr’s Memorial, also known as Shaheed Smarak, is a life-size statue of seven young men who sacrificed their lives in the Quit India movement (August 1942), to hoist the national flag on the Secretariat building. The foundation stone of Martyr’s Memorial was laid on 15 August 1947, by the governor of Bihar, Mr. Jairam Das Daulatram. The sculptor Deviprasad Roychoudhury built the bronze statue of the seven students with the national flag. These statues were cast in Italy and later placed here.

Martyr’s Memorial is situated outside the Secretariat building in Patna.

During the height of Quit India Movement in 1942, eminent Gandhian Dr.Anugrah Narain was arrested while he was trying to unfurl the national flag in Patna,as a strong reaction, a group of seven young students decided to forcefully unfurl the national flag in Patna and were mercilessly shot dead by the British. Following are the martyrs, whose names are engraved on Martyr’s Memorial.

Umakant Prasad Sinha(Raman Ji) – Ram Mohan Roy Seminary,class IX, Narendrapur, Saran
Ramanand Singh – Ram Mohan Roy Seminary, class IX, Sahadat Nagar (at present Dhanarua), Patna
Satish Prasad Jha – Patna Collegiate School, class X, Khadahara, Bhagalpur
Jagatpati Kumar – Bihar National College, 2nd year, Kharati, Aurangabad
Devipada Choudhry – Miller High English School, class IX, Silhat, Jamalpur
Rajendra Singh – Patna High English School, matric class, Banwari Chak, Saran, Nayagaon, Bihar
Ramgovind Singh – Punpun High English School, matric class, Dasharatha, Patna.
Today nation salutes them… Vande mataram!

By : Priti Sen, Patna 

Cresta WhatsApp Chat
Send via WhatsApp
error: Content is protected !!